Nina and Pinta

In Panama City this week I had a little time to head to the marina to see a little bit of history.  Many years ago I actually did have aspirations of being an archaeologist.   So during my years working on my bachelors degree I ended up with a double major in History and Anthropology/Archaeology.  I live in a part of the country which is rich in history, from when DeSoto arrived with his expedition, to the Civil War, and in later years the Civil Right‘s movement.    I remember my aunt’s home, as a child, was one of my favorite places to visit.  Not for any other reason other than the history of the home.  Both my grandmother and aunt (her sister) would often tell me stories of the house which was built before the civil war.  Whether or not the stories were real or not did not matter to me.  The home was a museum in it’s own right.  From the high ceilings which kept the home cool in the summer (and freezing in the winter!) to the Model A Ford which sat in the barn out back.  There was an outhouse too!    OK, that’s another story and blog for another time.

At the marina this week sat The Nina and the Pinta.  The Niña is a replica of the ship on which Columbus sailed across the Atlantic on his three voyages of discovery to the new world beginning in 1492.  Columbus sailed the  ship over 25,000 miles.  That ship was last heard of in 1501, but the new Niña has a different mission.  It is floating museum, as is the Pinta.  Visit their website and you’ll see the two beautiful ships in full sail.  Amazing.   I wish I could see that first hand, but maybe another time.  They also have a facebook page I found.  Anyone in the area can see these ships until Feb 20th according to their schedule.    

P2150792b

P2150771

P2150773

P2150777

P2150780b

P2150781b

P2150784b

P2150787b

P2150795b

P2150798b

P2150804b

P2150805b

P2150807b

P2150809b

P2150810b

P2150818b

pintas

shipsboat

 

16 thoughts on “Nina and Pinta

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Black and White or Sepia Tones « Miljo Anne

Leave a Reply

