Bringing more history to the present

Today was a road trip to Tallahassee Florida to meet up with a friend I haven’t seen in almost a year and to attend a fossil show… where past meets present.  I’m not one to write much so I hope you enjoy the visuals of my day trip.

Mako

Mako
Fossilized Skull cap of a Dugon (Manatee)

Fossilized Skull cap of a Dugon (Manatee)

Mastodon

Mastodon

I'm not real sure what this fellow once was.

I’m not real sure what this fellow once was.

point

point

display for sale

display

pottery

pottery1

Rhino tooth with a snail also fossilized inside it

Rhino tooth with a snail also fossilized inside it

Fossilized Rhino tooth

Fossilized Rhino tooth

Fossilized Rhino tooth

Fossilized Rhino tooth

fossilized Rhino tooth

fossilized Rhino tooth

Some sort of tube worm, fossilized

Some sort of tube worm, fossilized

sabertusk

shards

show

slough

leave it to me to find cameras when I'm at a fossil show.

leave it to me to find cameras when I’m at a fossil show.

Met a new friend at the show who had lots of interesting toys: cameras!!!  I now have a new wish list 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Bringing more history to the present

    • cool! i’m actually about 2 hours away 🙂 It was lots of fun. Met several new people i hope to do some fossil hunting and scuba diving with this coming year.

  1. “I’m not real sure what this fellow once was.”
    My guess is a seal, going on the sharp double pointed molars.
    The large single tooth would be a whale.
    Eclectic collection of shots, very nice!

  2. Your tooth labeled “mastodon” is actually the tooth of a Mammoth or a modern-day elephant (depending on its age).. Take a look on Google or another search engine. The teeth are very different.

    Nice web site, by the way.

Leave a Reply

