My Spaghetti Sauce

I haven’t been posting in awhile but thought I’d stop in to share my favorite recipe.  Over the past 20 years I’ve perfected this (at least I love it).  For awhile I was having to make it different due to not being able to find my favorite seasonings.  After much searching and reading I found that the spice I had been using had changed it’s name.  At least that’s what i read.  I used it for the first time again and though it taste basically the same I don’t think it has the spicy black pepper in it as it had in the past.  Remedy:  add black pepper.

I’ve been told my sauce is not quite like others and in fact some have told me it’s not spaghetti sauce at all because it’s thick.  I happen to like using lots and lots of veggies and sausage instead of hamburger meat.  But if your a vegetarian, or just want a vegetarian meal, just omit the sausage.  I do use some pre-made sauces from a jar but I’ve added so much that I don’t think it matters.  I love the taste.  Anyway, here it is.

Thick, and hardy sauce

Thick, and hardy sauce

I use ground sausage but this is so thick and hardy the sausage can be omitted for a complete vegetarian sauce.  This makes aprox 3 quarts, enough to have some to freeze for later use.

  • 1/2 large red/purple onion – diced
  • 1 large white onion- diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic – diced
  • 1 red bell pepper – diced
  • 1 green bell pepper- diced
  • Mushrooms – sliced
  • Roma Tomato – diced
  • Extra virgin olive oil (will use several times so just keep bottle handy)
  • Durkee Spicy Pasta Seasoning (also keep handy)
  • 2 jars of Classico Spaghetti sauce or those of your choosing. 24 oz jars
  • One pound of ground sausage. I usually find an “Italian” type or “regular”
whiteoniondiced

diced white onion

sliced mushrooms

sliced mushrooms

chopped green pepper

chopped green pepper

seasonedveggies

Seasoned veggies cooking

Durkee Spicy Pasta Seasoning

Durkee Spicy Pasta Seasoning  

chopped red pepper

chopped red pepper

Meal is complete.

Meal is complete.

Leave a Reply

