Marbled Pecan Pound Cake

For many years I have collected Southern Living end of the year cookbooks.  Way before we had internet, pinterest and other ways of looking up recipes I was combing through these cookbooks every Christmas.  My mother started making it a tradition to get me the year’s SL cook book each Christmas.  I would spend hours going through the books and those in the early years are well used.  Of course, the later time went on, the more, like everyone else, I look online.  I still enjoy going through the recipes but since my children are grown and life is more geared toward social media, the newer ones are in “less used” shape.  ‘

Anyway, this recipe came from a 1993 annual cook book of SL.   It is still one of  my favorites.

I normally get all my ingredients out and ready to use as the eggs, shortening, and butter often need to get at room temperature for the best results.  Here is what you need:

  • 1/2 cup of butter (I don’t use margarine but if you want you can)
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use Crisco, butter flavored)
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • 5 large eggs (I used brown simply because I have chickens and had them)
  • 3 cups self rising flour.
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 -1 oz square of unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 TBS of shortening (this is in addition to the 1/2 cup listed above as it’s for the chocolate part of the mixture)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped pecans
  1. First beat the butter and 1/2 cup of shortening at medium speed with an electric mixer for about 2 minutes or until creamy.

     

  2.   combine flour to the butter mixture and alternate with milk at low speeds, then add vanilla and mix until blended.
  3.  Set this aside for now
  4. combine chocolate and the 1 TBS of shortening in a small glass bowl and microwave for 1 minute.  It should be melted, stir it to be sure.
  5. measure out 2 cups of the batter.  Add the chocolate and shortening mixture to those two cups of batter (in a different bowl).  This is going to be your chocolate swirl.   meltingchoco2
  6. *** sprinkle your pecan pieces in the bottom of the pan.  I have starred this because it’s a step I often forget to do and end up having to put the pecans on top of the batter (which after it’s cooked will be the bottom of the cake).  I did it today too so you won’t see the pecans on the “top” of my cake in the pictures.
  7. pour some of the original batter into a prepared bunt type cake pan.  About 1/3 of what is left of the original batter that does not have the chocolate in it.
  8. Add a layer of the chocolate mixture         pan
  9. Add another layer of the original batter
  10. add the chocolate then top with what is left of the original batter.
  11.  Place the cake pan in the middle  on a rack in the middle of the oven set at 350 degree F. and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes.
  • NOT:   The first few times I made this I ended up with only one layer of the chocolate.  That’s fine.  You just want to be sure your top layer is of the non chocolate batter. I think it just looks better, you’ll have that marbled look to it.

batter

 

 

Leave a Reply

